Almost 32 Weeks

On mornings like this morning when it is grey and frosty out, I wish I could lie in bed all day and just feel the baby kicking, squirming, and stretching.  I love feeling its movements and knowing it’s still doing OK in there.

Almost to 32 weeks now.

One of my coworkers at the library is starting her maternity leave early next week.  She’s due in March, like I am.  One of the supervisors asked me to work extra to cover her absence.  I couldn’t believe he’d ask me to do that when I can barely come in every day as it is, can barely physically handle my job as it is.  Besides, I will be having my baby before she does most likely.  It would be pointless having someone cover someone else for a couple of weeks and then need to be gone for a while, too.

I’m technically on “light duty” at the library, but that doesn’t mean much.  Unfortunately my job doesn’t involve many things that qualify as light duty.  If I got paid more, I would have a more sedentary position, but since I have a minimum wage, no benefits job, 99% of the job description involves manual labour.  A lot of days, I just don’t feel physically capable of doing my job well and I wish they could give me something else to do.  I really like working there, I love the people I work with, and they need me and we need the income (especially since my husband is not working currently, thanks to the slow season).  I end up taking a lot of time off that I don’t want to.

I look forward to being able to work normally again, but at the same time, I dread what the months ahead have in store for us.  So for now, I’m just enjoying every bit of movement I can from baby, not knowing what things will be like when it is no longer inside kicking.

Leave a Reply

