Overnight Oatmeal Saves My Mornings

I’ve lately been making this recipe for do-ahead breakfasts (much needed since I struggle to get up in the morning, physically and emotionally, and struggle even more making breakfast once I’m up!).  The best thing is that they are loaded with protein–something both my husband and I need lots of.  Actually, maybe the best thing is that when I wake up, my breakfast is already to go.  I make individual servings in 2-cup Snapware containers, and if I’m extra late to work (which is happening more and more frequently, unfortunately), I can just grab it to eat once I get to work.  I usually make 4-6 at a time, and it takes about 10 minutes to make them.  I think it’s really just as easy to make a bunch ahead of time as to make one at a time.

http://www.theyummylife.com/Refrigerator_Oatmeal

The main idea is that you put uncooked oatmeal, milk, Greek yoghurt, chia seeds, and some sort of flavour-influencing aspects (fruits, peanut butter, cocoa powder, etc.) together and stick it in the fridge the night before you want it.  I usually make three days’ worth at a time.  As long as you don’t use bananas, this should work fine (bananas get discoloured and look ugly and might feel a little slimy after a couple of days).

I fairly simplify the blog poster’s recipe so that I can remember it.  I adjust the amounts to my personal likes.  Make sure to make it more liquidy than you might like your oatmeal because it will set up much thicker overnight.  I just put enough milk until it looks like what I want it to look like.

I put in:

1/3 cup Greek yoghurt
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup dry oatmeal (I use quick oats because we have a 5-gallon container in the cupboard and they work just fine)
1 1/2 tsp chia seeds

Then, I make different combinations of flavours.  Because my husband requires a lot of protein to operate day-to-day, I like to make his with 1 Tbsp peanut butter, a chopped up banana, and a bit of honey.  Sometimes I add 1 Tbsp cocoa powder to this.  Make sure to add the honey to balance the unsweetened cocoa!

1/4 cup applesauce, 1 tsp honey, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon make a great apple cinnamon oatmeal.

I look forward to trying more berry ones in the future once it’s berry season again and the prices around here aren’t murderous.

If only we could figure out a way to make this lenten, it would be perfect.  Oh well.  It’s great on non-fasting days!

Leave a Reply

