The dress

On Sunday, we celebrated our “liturgical” anniversary.  Since we were married during the Paschal season, we can always remember the exact Sunday we were married on, even though it will usually fall on a very different day than the one we actually celebrate our wedding.

It was also 3 months to the day that Seraphim died.  My husband thought this was symbolic in a way.  We remembered him and our kind-of-sort-of wedding anniversary the same day.

For our wedding, just about everything was DIY.  The biggest project that I took on was also the one I most wanted full control over: my wedding dress.  Being married in the church means a strict dress code, and most store-bought gowns don’t even come close.  I wouldn’t want to flaunt everything on the day I was getting married anyway, church rules aside, and I didn’t want to pay hundreds of dollars for a gown and then have to pay out another outrageous sum for a cover-up to keep my modesty.  Besides, I had very particular tastes that I doubted anyone could please but myself.

I spent right around $100 on my wedding dress and veil–including a change of mind about lace that could’ve saved me $20 but was worth it in the end for my personal happiness with the finished product.  I still have lots of scraps of material (which, had I been feeling better when I was pregnant, I would’ve sewn into a gown for Seraphim–something I regret quite a bit).

I recently remembered that the day I started making my dress (which was a big celebratory event for me, personally–I suppose like shopping for the dress is for other girls, though I’d had my pattern picked out for months) was Presidents’ Day.  I picked this day because I had the whole day off of work, and to start a monumental project like making a wedding dress, I knew I would need a lot of time.  The date I started my dress was the same date that our son was born a year later.

Who would’ve guessed the changes that just a year would bring?  I hoped we would be blessed with a child (at least a pregnancy) in the first year or two of our marriage, since we both really long for a family.  We didn’t expect what we got.  It wasn’t even a thought in our minds.

I suppose that reinforces the whole Orthodox Christian mindset of marriage: we give up ourselves to make the whole better, and to better our souls.  We had to give up our hopes and expectations and desires and take what life gave us instead.  We took something that we didn’t get a decision in and had to accept it because we couldn’t refuse it.  The crowns of martyrdom we were granted thus far in our marriage were far different than the crowns I thought I was taking on.

How typical.

Because I want to, I’ll go ahead and share some of my pictures of my “masterpiece” (aka my wedding dress).  The dress is Vogue pattern V2979 with Simplicity 4940 sleeves (I liked the Grace Kelly style, but wanted less form-fitting and more breathable sleeves since it gets really hot around here this time of year!).  The half-hat veil pattern was something crochet I found online (my friend made it because I don’t know how to crochet) and then I just cut some lace and sewed it onto the veil.  Simple.  The dress took me about 2 months to finish; the veil took about 5 minutes.

Image

Image
I was showing the back of the dress (which had about 30 buttons) to some ladies. The train got a little tangled up in my hand.

Image
Yes, I made the flowers, too (with some help from a few people and a great online tutorial).

Image
I was anti-train until seeing a friend’s wedding and admiring the bride’s train (incidentally, the wife of my husband’s sponsor/best man). So I decided I had to have one.
I made almost all of the accessories as well: flowers (as mentioned), hats, men’s ties (which you can’t see here), crowns.

Leave a Reply

