Thankful

Most merciful Lord, we thank Thee for allowing us to share in the wonder of Thy creation by being co-creators of these precious lives. We thank Thee for the blessing of time spent with our children, however short it may seem to us in this life, and for the assurances of their eternal life in Heaven, free from all trouble, pain, and sorrow. We know that Thou hast immeasurable love for our children, as well as for ourselves. Grant that we may live with peace and gratitude, free from any bitterness, knowing that one day we will be reunited with the souls of our children. O Lord, Thou who will wipe every tear from every face, comfort us in our sorrow, and grant our souls great mercy. Amen.

I’m not sure who the author is of the above prayer of thanksgiving, but I found it comforting.

It is unfortunate that so often we only allow ourselves to contemplate thankfulness one day out of one month of the year, instead of every hour of every day of every month of every year.

It’s easy to complain, so over the years, I have tried to take a proactive approach: What am I thankful about today?  Sometimes the things that come to mind are somewhat silly.  “I am thankful for autumn leaves,” or “I am thankful I get to wear sweaters again,” or “I am thankful the bus is 5 minutes late because I am, too.”  In the past year, sometimes these silly things are still hard to find.  So I am making an effort.

Once in a while, I realise I am thankful for bigger things that I didn’t think I would ever be thankful for.  About a year ago, after learning our first child was going to die, and seeing how difficult getting through each day was (being faced with others’ living children they all too often are NOT thankful for), I remember acknowledging, “After all of the pain I went through not being able to get my teaching credential, I now understand maybe it was for a purpose.  I am thankful I am not teaching others’ children right now, because I don’t think I could do it.”  I still hope to get my teaching credential someday, but putting my husband through college right now is priority.  And so I am thankful for something that was a great heartache to me for three years.

I suppose that is why we are supposed to be thankful for even the things we do not understand.  There is some greater purpose in all of this pain.

I have seen in the past week that God has bestowed great blessings on us that I am not prepared for.  For whatever reason, it’s best for us now, and I am thankful, even though it is another thing I do not understand.

Leave a Reply

